The Eagle Pose

I bend my knees slightly, lift my left foot up and cross it thigh over the right. Point my left toes toward the floor, then hook the top of the foot behind the lower right calf. Now I balance on the right foot. Cross my arms so the right arm is above the left and then bend my elbow. I wind them around each other and press palms together. Now standing and balancing in

E A G L E

Easy, I can do this! I am now the king of the birds! I feel strength & focus in my eagle spirit. I have turned into an Eagle, Rising above the all material to see the spiritual. Just When My master says ‘Now come out of your pose and change the cross of the Legs’ I relax and mentally prepare myself for changing my legs. I start very slowly because I don’t trust my left foot. While I’m just slowly bending my knee – I notice the whole studio room is full of perfect still eagles balancing on left foot like they were all eagle egg hatched! I panic. That’s where my head gets full of thoughts and I start talking to myself in my head:

‘Oh Great! You just lost your focus! Come on! You can do this! Concentrate; do not compare yourself to those other Birds! Take a deep inhale –  focus – You standing now – exhale – keep it Balanced .. Ok, ok .. let me do this, just stop talking to me please!’ 

I’m now Balancing on my left foot I cross my arms in reversed order, then… Expected happened: my Left foot let me down and I flew my Eagle with all its ability to see hidden spiritual truths right out of my pose. Well, I may not have Eagle qualities, but the good news is strong Eagles aren’t born, they’re made. And with Eagle’s determination I keep practicing to become a better Eagle.

This is a lesson learnt from skilled and fearless Eagle:  Work smarter, not harder.

yoga-pose-eagle-pose-4273-1Eagle Pose Benefits
  • Strengthens and stretches the ankles and calves
  • Stretches the thighs, hips, shoulders, and upper back
  • Improves concentration
  • Improves sense of balance

Leave a Reply

