Where is My Post?

Image
Did you know that you have the only luxury that cost nothing in door to door postal service? I bet you didn’t! Well, let me tell you, because I want you to really appreciate it. So now, please stop singing about Post Code Envy (Lorde!), because there are different luxuries that people have and don’t know about it. And for those of you who do not know what “Post Code Envy” means; it means to resident in a more established or elite area. For example you can have postcode envy for Beverly hills in California known by one of its zip codes 90210, or Manhattan area in New York City or London’s postcode SW3, Knightsbridge, Belgravia, St. John’s Wood, Kensington and Chelsea for example. Hong Kong has many exclusive areas also, you could have post code envy for residencies in Repulse Bay, in the Peak or Stanley. In Dubai it could be the Meadows or the Springs I guess. Yeah, yeah, yeah you get it now.
But this is not about the most priciest areas or postcodes, because in Dubai no matter where you live you cannot receive your post the way we know it. And this is how I developed my PSE “Postal Service Envy”
We are all used to a door to door postal service in any other countries. Living in Dubai now and not getting any of my post, my orders, parcels, birthday cards I have done lots of tracking down of my missing post. Just to find out that everything that was ever sent to me was returned to its sender. I quickly realised how special receiving post at your home address is. Unless it is sent by courier companies, only courier with important mail that needs to be tracked can deliver at your residential address, here in Dubai. Door to door postal service does not exist in the UAE. Instead people have to pay for a PO Box system here. Basically I have to rent my own personal P.O Box in my local post office, in order to receive my post. And by “local” we talking at least 20 minutes drive, that is, if you find it of course.  I Take all documents required and the required fees to the post office and get the keys to my box right away, aaaah so happy!
The Key to my Box! The key means so much to me, I feel relived. I am a great online shopper and buy everything from clothes to accessories to shoes to cosmetics to hair products to art all online. Honestly, it feels like receiving gifts. Yes it is a self gifting, my favourite, as I always get exactly what I want! The rental charges for having a box in the post office are shocking, forget the shipping or the actual price of your purchase. Paying for a place so you can actually receive your post and still need to come in opening hours to pick it up yourself, is just a another level of unreasonable expense in Dubai. With this very new system to me, where I don’t get deliveries and surprises at my doorstep anymore I have to plan my trips to the post office. Its kind of like if the christmas doesn’t come to you, you go to get your christmas. Yes the trips to the post office became my new activity of excitement.
So from now on, when you see a post man at your doors, remember what a luxury and privilige you have of receiving your post, as I envy you!

Leave a comment