Where are my Sundays ?

career-girls-sidebarI was taken by surprise by some customs in Dubai (read here) and one of them is Dubai’s working week. The first thing you need to know about working in Dubai is that the working week starts Sunday and ends with Thursday. I still can’t get my head around it. I feel like I am missing out on ‘Happy Fridays’ and totally skipping ‘Chill out Sundays’. On thursdays I forget to feel like it’s the end of the working week and on saturdays I forget to feel like is the end of the weekend. Every Sunday I wake up on my alarm clock feeling robbed of my weekend. Robbed of easy like sunday’s mornings.

Here is how it feels like to get robbed; I drag myself to work when everyone else is having breakfast in bed. I get into my office when everyone else is eating, drinking and doing all the things that go down on Sunday Fun-day. I am thinking of new ways how to expand our business, when everyone else is making crazy decisions or shopping, they will regret on Monday. I email to my clients, when everyone else is calling me and texting me some friday’s gossip. Sunday is day of rest. It’s Lazy Sunday. Chill-out Sunday. Pyjamas all day. I miss Sundays in bed. I clearly need a day between saturday and sunday.

One thought on “Where are my Sundays ?

Leave a Reply

