Cupid came with Koffey

This is a continuation to my Must Love Cats post.

Where I have explained how the 3rd cat, our sweet Raspberry happened to us. I owe you one more explanation, a story about Koffey, our 4th cat. Do you remember the pet shop, I used to go to and my friendly relation with the shop owner, called Frank? Yes, the same guy who sold us Raspberry. I kept regularly going to his shop to get everything I needed for my at the time, three babies. It had been like five months, since we added Raspberry to our little big family, then. One of those days, we went to shop for cats supplies and as soon as I walked in, Frank greets me with huge smile on his face. His eyes glowing. ‘Hello, how are you’ walks towards me smiling ‘I have this cat upstairs, some couple got divorced and just dropped the cat into my shop, you have to see’

My boyfriend interrupts Frank quickly ‘No, no, no, she doesn’t need to see a cat, we already have three cats at home, thanks to yours sad stories you feeding my girlfriend with, remember? Remember you sold us a cat with broken tongue? Look Frank, just let us get some food and toys, we do not need no more cats, thank you’
Frank smiles cheekily and disappears somewhere into back of his shop, leaving us to browse. Next minute I turn around, he stands in front of me with this beautiful huge cat in his arms. ‘He is one year old, I give you for free’ I sight heavily ‘Aw Frank, he is beautiful, but I can’t .. beautiful eyes, I stroke the cat, he is so soft, so cuddly, I CANNOT..  I glance at Steve and say ‘he has got blue eyes just like yours’

Steve comes to us and takes the cat into his arms ‘Wow It is a big boy, really cute, but baby we can not have more cats’ I nod in agreement and shake my head ‘No’ to Frank. I sit silently in a car on our way back home. Thinking, of how people could just get rid of their pets so easily. He looked scared and traumatised. Being dropped in pet shop, must be shocking experience.. I kept staring out of the window and say ‘We are his second chance for a good life and loving family .. and Raspberry could have a boyfriend’

Steven looks at me in disbelieve ‘I thought we got Raspberry as a girlfriend for Tubby’

Okay, I know, I got caught in all my tricks now, I don’t know what else to say. I try my last move on Steven ‘We could call him Koffey’ I smile and justify ‘because of his cafe late colour, but mostly after John Coffey, the gentle giant character! – in Green Mile movie, played by Michael Clarke Duncan.

No, giving him name, didn’t work this time. I understand I am done at this point. For next two days I keep thinking about Koffey and talk to few friends about him, trying to find him a new home. On Sunday morning Steve got up and told me he is going to pick up some dry-cleaning, that he is in need for clean shirts for work. When I woke up a while later, I thought to myself, I don’t remember dropping any shirts to dry-cleaners, but I didn’t pay attention to that knowing at all. Anyway it was way too early for my brain to work. So I made myself coffee and sat on the sofa turned the TV on and kept changing the channels, because that is just the way I watch TV. I don’t really watch it. I heard a lift stopped on our floor and sensed that Steve is back, I looked at our main door of our apartment, when the door is pushed wide open.

Steve standing there with Koffey in his arms.

Koffy

Our Gentle Giant Koffey

One is Easy x Two are just so Funny x Third is a Big Surprise x Fourth a Sweet Gift

Meet my all cat-troubles here.

4 thoughts on “Cupid came with Koffey

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt – Connections | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: First Sight, the answer to all my problems | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Houston, I have fallen in love! | The Hempstead Man

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: First Sight | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

